ICC Awards: Triple Treat For The Indian Skipper Virat Kohli

ICC Awards 2019

ICC Awards: On Wednesday morning, the annual International Cricket Council Awards were declared. Ben Stokes was honoured with the highest award as he received Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for World Player of the Year.

Pat Cummins received the award for Test Cricketer of the Year 2019, and Rohit Sharma received the award for ODI Cricketer of the Year 2019. However, Indian skipper, Virat Kohli, won three accolades.

Also Read: India Men ODI Team Is The Most Successful In The Decade

In the World Cup 2019 Kohli’s gesture towards Steve Smith won him the award Spirit of Cricket Award for 2019. Additionally, he was named the Captain for both ICC Test and ODI teams of 2019.  This is the 3rd successive time Kohli has been named as the captain of ICC teams in both formats.

Apart from Ben Stokes, and Mitchell Starc, Virat Kohli is the only cricketer to be put on both teams. The line-up of ICC Test and ODI team for the Year 2019 are as follows:

ICC Test Team of the Year 2019: Mayank Agarwal, Tom Latham, Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, BJ Watling (WK), Virat Kohli (C), Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Marnus Labuschagne, Neil Wagner, and Mitchell Starc.

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2019: Rohit Sharma, Kane Williamson, Ben Stokes, Babar Azam, Virat Kohli (C), Jos Buttler (WK), Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Shai Hope, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mitchell Starc.

Also Read: Serena Williams Donates Tennis Tournament Winnings To This Cause

Also, in his 6th international T20 match, Deepak Chahar made history as he took 6 wickets by only giving 7 runs in 3.2 overs in the crucial, series decider, match against Bangladesh. For this he received T20I Performer of the Year 2019.

Check the Complete List of Awards For the Year 2019:

  • Ben Stokes: World player of the year
  • Deepak Chahar: T20I Performer of the Year
  • Rohit Sharma: ODI Cricketer of the Year
  • Virat Kohli: Spirit of Cricket Award
  • Marnus Labuschagne: ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer
  • Pat Cummins: Test Cricketer of the Year
  • Kyle Coetzer: Associate Cricketer of the Year
xploringindia google news
Subscribe to get the best stories into your inbox!
Xploringindia is a administrator who has a keen interest in politics, fashion, and lifestyle. She is a post-graduate in Economics and loves to listen to classic old Hindi songs and travel to new places in her leisure time. Her writing is well researched, covering important aspects and core of the topic covering crucial points.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Editor's choice
Jet Airways To Take Flight Again From Early 2022, Company Starts Hiring Process
Bombay HC Dismisses Kangana Ranaut's Plea Seeking Quashing Of Defamation Case By Javed Akhtar
Financial Tasks You Must Complete Before 30 September 2021
Paytm Money Launches “WealthBaskest” An Investment Advisory Marketplace