Narendra Modi Is Now The Longest Serving Prime Minister Of India From Non-Congress Government

Narendra Modi Now The Longest-Serving Prime Minister OF India From A Non-Congress Govt


  • PM Modi has served as the PM for 2,271 days
  • He also served as the CM of Gujarat for 12 years and 227 days
  • PM Modi has been the longest serving PM from a non-Congress government

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has now become the longest serving Prime Minister of India from a non-Congress Government and has served over 2,271 days in the PM office. Narendra Modi has now spent more number of consecutive days in office than the former Prime Minister of India Atal Bihari Vajpayee, who headed the first government of National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Though Vajpayee, who was the longest serving Prime Minister of a non-Congress government, remained in office for six years – From 19th of March 1998 to 22nd of May, 2004 – Modi’s tenure as Prime Minister started back in May 2014 and he would face re-election in May 2024, when he completes a decade in office.

Also Read: Biggest Single-Day Jump In Coronavirus Cases In India Recorded At 67,000

There are only 3 Prime Ministers who have served as the head of the country for a longer duration than Narendra Modi. The three Prime Ministers are, Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi and Manmohan Singh, who were all from the Congress party.

Among the other Congress Prime Ministers who have spent considerable time in office are Rajiv Gandhi, whose tenure lasted for five years and 32 days, nearly 1,857 days; P.V. Narasimha Rao, comes a close second as he served four years and 330 days in office as the Prime Minister, that is, 1,761 days.

Interestingly, Modi also has the longest tenure as head of an elected government if his tenure of six years and 79 days as Prime Minister and another 12 years and 227 days as Chief Minister of Gujarat are counted together.

Modi has been continuously in the office of an elected government for more than 4,607 days since he became Chief Minister of Gujarat. The former Prime Minister Morarji Desai, who served as both the PM and Chief Minister, was in the office of an elected government for six years and 320 days, of which his tenure as PM was for two years and 126 days, while his tenure as CM was for four years and 196 days.


Ajay Kumar

Ajay joined our team as a content writer after earning his master's degree. He has been writing for since his graduation as a freelancer and raises voice for the people in need with his work. He likes to work on data-driven news reports. When he is not writing, he spends his time with his family.

Read Previous

Biggest Single-Day Jump In Coronavirus Cases In India Recorded At 67,000

Read Next

Prashant Bhushan Held Guilty Of Contempt Of Court For Tweets On CJI S A Bobde

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *