Eight Members Of Parliament Suspended From Rajya Sabha Over Creating Chaos On-Farm Bills

8 MPs Suspended From Rajya Sabha Over Causing Uproar On Farm Bills


  • The ruckus over farm bills in Rajya Sabha
  • 8 Members of Parliament were suspended over the ruckus
  • Chairman of Rajya Sabha, M Venkaiah Naidu, rejected a notice for no-confidence motion against the Deputy Chairman

On Monday, Rajya Sabha suspended 8 members which include TMC leader Derek O’Brien, one day after the House witnessed an unprecedented disorderly scenario of protests from the opposition members during the passage of Farm Bills.

Rajya Sabha Chairman, M Venkaiah Naidu, also rejected a notice for no-confidence motion against the Deputy Chairman, Harivansh, on the grounds that proper procedures were not followed.

The 8 members who have been suspended from the House are Derek O’Brien, Dola Sen, Elamaram Karim, K K Ragesh, Rajiv Sattav, Ripun Bora, Sanjay Singh, and Syed Nazir Hussain.

On Monday morning, M Venkaiah Naidu who is the Chairman of Rajya Sabha said, “Derek O Brien, Sanjay Singh, Raju Satav, K K Ragesh, Ripun Bora, Dola Sen, Syed Nazir Hussain and Elamaran Karim suspended for one week for unruly behaviour with the Chair,”.

Naidu contemned the disorderly behaviour and “threats” to Harivansh during the passage of the Farm Bills in the house.  Shortly thereafter, Parliamentary Affairs ministers read out a motion which sought the suspension of the 8 members for the remainder of the session.

Also Read: US Department Of Justice Charges 5 Chinese Nationals In Huge Hacking Scheme, Claims To have Hit Indian Govt Networks As Well

Naidu then put the motion to vote and it was carried out via voice votes.

Rajya Sabha was adjourned till 10:36 AM, amidst the continuous protest against the suspension of the Opposition Members of Parliament.

V Muraleedharan, a Rajya Sabha Mp said, “The suspended members have no right to be in the House. The House cannot function with the presence of non-members,”.

Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha Harivansh said, “I urge the members named by the Rajya Sabha Chairman to not take part in the House proceedings”.

A report said, “Two key farm bills, dubbed as the biggest reform in agriculture by the government, were on Sunday passed by Rajya Sabha with voice vote amid unprecedented unruly scenes by protesting opposition members who were demanding that the proposed legislation be referred to a House panel for greater scrutiny.”

The Rajya Sabha which is the Upper House of the Parliament witnessed unruly scenes on Sunday when the Opposition members stormed the well and reached the Deputy Chairman’s seat to protest against the Farm Bills which were being debated and passed by the Upper House via vocal voting.

Rajnath Singh expressed pain and anguish over the incident and criticized the conduct of the members of the Upper House of the Parliament.


Ajay Kumar

Ajay joined our team as a content writer after earning his master's degree. He has been writing for since his graduation as a freelancer and raises voice for the people in need with his work. He likes to work on data-driven news reports. When he is not writing, he spends his time with his family.

Read Previous

Thousands Test Positive For A Bacterial Disease In China After A Factory Leak

Read Next

Indian Railways To Begin 40 Clone Trains From Today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *