Chhattisgarh Body Elections, Congress Leading At Many Places, Counting Still On

Must read

Xploringindia is a administrator who has a keen interest in politics, fashion, and lifestyle. She is a post-graduate in Economics and loves to listen to classic old Hindi songs and travel to new places in her leisure time. Her writing is well researched, covering important aspects and core of the topic covering crucial points.

The counting of votes for the Chhattisgarh’s Civic Body Elections started today at around 9:00 am all across the state and the results have started coming out. Both Congress and BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) have opened their respective accounts at different places, however, out of 15 wards of Geedam Nagar Panchayat in Dantewada, the Congress party have already won 10, BJP won 2, and Independent candidates have won 3.

Also, in Pali Nagar Panchayad of Korba, Congress have won 11 wards out of 15 and 4 won by BJP, this means that for the first time ever, Pali Nagar Panchayat will be from the Congress party. Similar news comes from the Churi Nagri Panchayat where 8 wards were captured by Congress, 5 by BJP and 2 by Independent candidates out of 15 wards.

However, it’s not all lost for BJP as the saffron party has successfully captured 8 out of 15 wards of the Rajpur Nagar Panchayat in Balrampur, 6 wards went to Congress and 1 to an Independent candidate.

At the moment, candidates from the Congress party are leading at more places than any other, in Raipur Congress is ahead with 38 wards, BJP in 23 and 7 are led by Independents. Counting of the postage letters were completed here.

Voting in Chhattisgarh took place on the 21stof December amongst the 2,840 wards and 10,162 councillor candidates stood up for the wards in total. After 16 years the voting for elections were done with the use of Ballot Papers in Chhattisgarh. Strict security measures were taken for the counting of votes in the state, especially the capital city Raipur. The counting premise was kept in a Government Engineering College in Sejbahar where 2-2 tables were created for each ward.

In this Civic Body Election, over ten thousand councillor candidates filed for 2,840 wards.

The gates of the premise where counting of vote is underway was flocked by huge crowd at around 6:30 in the morning, the pass holders are being allowed inside the building after investigating and body search. One candidate is accompanied by 2 agents and over 500 personnel have already been positioned to manage security and traffic.

Items like Party mufflers, leash, mobile phones, and gutka have been banned. Today morning, the Assistant Returning Officers opened the Strong Room after breaking the seal on the locks in presence of agents.

Counting Updates

The recounting started in Ward number 14 in Bijapur when BJP applied for recounting due to difference of just 1 vote.

In Korba, BJP leads on 24 wards, Congress on 23, Independent candidates of 3, and Jogi Congress on 2.

Sitapur Nagar Panchayat of Sirguja have 14 wars, and Congress has won 7 of them, BJP won 4, and Independent candidates won 3 wards. Coming to the 15 wards on Lakhanpur Nagar Panchayat of Surguja, BJP won 7 wards, Congress won 6, and both Jogi Congress and Independents won 1 ward each.

Congress has also emerged victorious in the Barsur Nagar Panchayat of Dantewad as they won 8 wards out of 15. Independents won 4 and BJP won 3 wards.

In the 15 wards of Pithora Nagar Panchayat in Mahasamund, BJP won 8 wards, Independents won 5, and Congress only won 2.

In Dantewada’s Kirandul Municipality Congress won 9 wards, BJP won 4, Independents won 3, and CPI (Communist Party of India) won 2.

In the 15 wards of Gariaband Municipality, BJP won 8 Congress won 5, and Jogi Congress won 2 wards. In the 15 wards of Dhamtari’s Amadi Nagar Panchayat, BJP have won 8, Congress won 6 and Independent candidate won 1 ward.

A big victory for the Congress in the Pali Nagar Panchayat of Korba, Congress has emerged victorious by claiming 11 wards out of 15 and only 4 went to BJP. It will be the first time that the Pali Nagar Panchayat will get its President from the Congress party.

In Ambikapur, a case was registered against a 12 people, which includes the former councillor Islam, for assaulting and also assaulting before the election results. Jogi has been accused of assaulting the Congress workers during the campaigns of Civic Body Elections.

First time ever a turnout of 78.73% voters seen in Chhattisgarh.

Provisional figures were released by the Election Commission for the urban body election held in Chhattisgarh on Monday. The state has seen a record-breaking 78.73% polling this time. However, this time the difference has not been significant from the previous elections. In the 2014-15, there was 77.68% voters’ turnout. Although, due to instability in the capital city, Raipur, the repatriation had to be done for the first time.

Voting took place for 10 municipal corporations, 103 Nagar Panchayats, 38 municipalities, and 151 urban bodies in Chhattisgarh. A total of 5406 polling stations were set up. It was the first time after the formation of Chhattisgarh that the Chhattisgarh Janta Congress (J), and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) filed for the Civic Body Elections. Additionally, it is the first time in history that the State Election Commission linked the election for Urban Power to Google.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article