WhatsApp Tell People What Will Happen If They Do Not Accept Its New Privacy Policy

WhatsApp Tell People What Will Happen If They Do Not Accept Its New Privacy Policy

Highlights:

  • WhatsApp shared information explaining what will happen if users do not accept the new Privacy Policy
  • WhatsApp shared detailed FAQ (Frequently Asked Question) on its website
  • Your app will begin to lose functionality on May 15th

Amind the ongoing backlash over the new Privacy Policy from WhatsApp, the messaging app has shared details of what will happen to users who do not accept the new privacy policy in an FAQ on its website.

Beginning from the 15th of May, the application’s functionality will become more limited, and users will no longer be able to send or read messages from the app. Even though the users will still be able to receive calls and notifications, but this, too, will only be possible for a “short time.”

Speaking to TechCrunch, the company confirmed this period will last a few weeks at max.

To check the FAQ shared by WhatsApp, click here

The new privacy policy has been controversial among a lot of users, who worry that it will now allow WhatsApp to share their private messages with its parent company, Facebook. However, messages between individuals on WhatsApp are end-to-end encrypted, hence, it is only their recipients who can see the contents.

Also Read: Update: WhatsApp Issues New Privacy Policy, Will Share User Data With Facebook

What the new Privacy Policy relates to are the messages sent to the business accounts on WhatsApp, which may be stored on Facebook servers and whose data may be used for advertising. WhatsApp has shared some personal information, like phone numbers, with Facebook since 2016.

Responding to the major backlash, WhatsApp announced that it would delay the introduction of the new privacy policy, which was originally due to go into effect on the 8th of February. Last week, WhatsApp outlined how it would be explaining the new privacy policy to its users, in an effort that includes a banner inside the app with its explanation of the new policy.

WhatsApp, which is the most used messaging application in the world said that it will not delete any accounts which have not accepted the new terms on the 15th of May, and that users will still be able to accept the new privacy policy after that date.

However, it cautions that it generally deletes accounts after they’re inactive for 120 days or more.

Avatar

Shivani Singh

Shivani has been an avid reader of newspapers since her childhood and likes to know what is happening around the world. Her love for news and bringing forth the absolute is what drove her writing for the people. She has worked in the industry for over 4 years and believes that people’s basic rights should always be honoured. Apart from reading, she is a foodie and loves to try her hands-on cooking different cuisines.

Read Previous

Tiger Woods Accident: Obama, Trump And Others React To Roll-Over Car Crash

Read Next

People Coming from 5 States Will Need To Show Negative Report of Coronavirus Test Result in Delhi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *