WhatsApp Rolls Out ‘View Once’ Feature Where Image & Video Disappear After Viewing

WhatsApp Rolls Out 'View Once' Feature Where Image & Video Disappear After Viewing

Highlights:

  • The view once feature is being rolled out to WhatsApp beta for Android 2.21.14.3.
  • If you’re on this version of the beta and don’t see the feature, you might get it in a future update.
  • It’s similar to Snapchat’s view once or expiring media, which allows users to see pictures and videos once before they expire.

For beta users, WhatsApp is rolling out the ‘View Once’ feature, which allows users to see photos once before they disappear. This works in the same way that Instagram’s expiring media feature does. When the receiver opens the photo and leaves the chat, it will vanish. Android WhatsApp users can use the feature right now.

As per WaBetaInfo’s screenshots, users will be able to send fading photos by simply selecting photos from the gallery. Once selected, touch on the clock-like icon that appears near the “Add a caption” bar in the app. After that, you can send disappearing images to your friends and family.

Also Read: LG Officially Scraps Its Mobile Phone Business Due To Losses

The feature is compatible with videos, photos, and GIFs. If you don’t see the view once button while sharing media with others, it signifies you still haven’t received the feature. This feature is included in WhatsApp’s Android version 2.21.14.3.

What else should you know before using WhatsApp’s new feature?

If you disable read receipts, the receiver will still be able to see if you’ve opened the photo or video set to view once, but you won’t be able to see when the recipient opened your image, according to the cited source.

Even if you have read receipts disabled, you will be able to see when other participants open expiring photos if you share a disappearing image in a group. Because there is no screenshot detection, the recipient may be able to save the photo or video using screenshot or screen recording features, and WhatsApp would not even notify you.

You can share images and videos in groups with the ‘View Once’ option, and you can see who has opened them in the “Message Info” area. “Those photos and videos might still be viewed by blocked contacts in common groups. In fact, they won’t be able to chat or call you, but they will be able to interact with you in groups, according to WaBetaInfo.

If you send a photo to someone who hasn’t turned on the View Once feature, the feature will still work. Furthermore, Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg recently confirmed the existence of this feature and hinted that it will be available to everyone in the near future. As a result, the public release of this functionality is expected soon.

Avatar

Swastika Dubey

Swastika Dubey is a content writer who has a keen interest in politics, fashion, and lifestyle. She is a post-graduate in Economics and loves to listen to classic old Hindi songs and travel to new places in her leisure time. Her writing is well researched, covering important aspects and core of the topic covering crucial points.

Read Previous

Compensation For COVID-19 Victims: Supreme Courts Directs Centre To Form Guidelines In Under 6 Weeks

Read Next

Mandira Bedi’s Husband Raj Kushan Dies At Age Of 49, Onir Tweets, “Gone Too Soon,”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *