Smriti Mandhana scores 2,000 runs in ODI, faster than Kohli!!

Must read

Xploringindia is a administrator who has a keen interest in politics, fashion, and lifestyle. She is a post-graduate in Economics and loves to listen to classic old Hindi songs and travel to new places in her leisure time. Her writing is well researched, covering important aspects and core of the topic covering crucial points.

Yesterday, Indian Women Cricket team’s opener Smriti Mandhana scored a fifty which clinched the victory for Indian side against West Indies in Antigua, in doing so, she became the third fastest women to reach the tally of 2,000 runs in ODI format.

Mandhana’s 2,000 came in just 51 innings thereby becoming the 2nd fastest Indian cricketer to reach this milestone after Shikhar Dhawan who took just 48 innings to score 2,000 runs.

After making the playing 11 in Indian Women Cricket team after making a comeback from her toe injury, she scored 74 off just 63 deliveries steering India to victory with 6 wickets in hand in the 3rd ODI against West Indies.

Mandhana hit 3 sixes and 9 fours as India chased a score of 195. India won the series 2-1.

India’s star opener who have now scored 2,025 runs off just 51 innings have an average of 43.08 and a strike rate of 84.4 has reached the milestone of 2,000 runs faster than Virat Kohli, Sourav Ganguly, and Navjot Singh Sidhu who took 53 innings, 52 innings and 52 innings respectively.

Belinda Clark, former Australian batter holds the record of scoring 2,000 runs in women’s ODI cricket with scoring 2,000 in just 41 innings, 2nd fastest being Meg Lanning again from Australia, reached the  milestone in just 45 innings.

In men’s cricket, Former South African batsman Hashim Amla holds the world record to score the fastest 2,000 in ODIs in just 40 innings.

In the 3rd ODI against West Indies, Indian opener duo had a partnership of 141 runs with Jemimah Rodrigues scoring 69 off 92 deliveries, though India side lost their openers in quick succession, Punam Raut and Mithali Raj (Captain) took Indian to victory.

Indian bowlers did a commendable job as well, restricting West Indies side for just 194 runs, Poonam Yadav and Jhulan Goswami both took 2 wickets and Deepti Sharma, Shika Pandey, and Rekeshwari Gayakwad took 1 wicket each.

- Advertisement -

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article